Skip to content

2018 Oban Sea Kayak Race results

A total of 45 racers took part in the event, which included Ocean Surf Skis, Racing Kayaks, Touring and Double Kayaks with entries again coming from far and wide.

First man in was Duncan Capps (M senior) from Hants in a time of 1:41:54; first woman home was Lizelle Kemp (F) in a time of 01:52:24 (beating her own record breaking run from last year).

The Organising Team would like to thank everyone who made the journey to Oban and for making this years event so successful. Here are the official Race times for this years event.

Name  Gender Category Overall Time Boat
Duncan Capps M Senior Ski 01:41:54 Knysna Genuis
Robert Lang M Senior Ski 01:43:44 Think Evo ski
Simon Derham M Senior Ski 01:50:24 Nelo 550 ski
Douglas Wilby M Ski 01:50:58 Epic V10 sport
Kevin Ramsay M Ski 01:51:16 NK Squall Ski
Lizelle Kemp F Ski 01:52:24 Think Uno ski
Kenny Fraser M Senior Race 01:54:19 Nelo Interceptor
Duncan Blyth M Senior Ski 01:56:05 Carbonolog Y Zest
Daniel Matthews M Senior Ski 01:59:02 Revo R3 ski
Mick Berwick M Senior Race 02:00:11 Rockpool Taran
Colin Calder M Senior Ski 02:00:16 Fenn XT Surf ski
Michael Surmon M Ski 02:01:30 Think Evo II ski
Alan Hunter M Senior Ski 02:01:58 NK Ski
Les Kirkpatrick M Senior Race 02:02:59 Rockpool Taran
Mark Peters / Adam Richards M Senior Double 02:04:11 Neo Waterman
Alison Auld F Ski 02:06:32 Epic V10
John Bunyan M Senior Race 02:07:32 Epic 18
JosephMcMillan M Ski 02:08:35 Epic V10 ski
Paul Hill Ski 02:09:39 Epic V8 ski
Alan Paterson M Race 02:09:56 Rockpool Taran
Steven Whipp M Senior Race 02:10:16 Fyne Boats Pax 20
Malcolm Stubbs M Senior Ski 02:10:41 Epic V10 ski
Duncan Davey M Tour 02:12:51 Valley Etain 17-7
Steve Gynn M Senior Ski 02:12:52 Epic V5 ski
Stuart Roberts M Senior Tour 02:15:00 Wilderness Tempest 180
Ben Beachell M Tour 02:15:01 Northshore Atlantic 
Stuart Nicolson M Ski 02:18:07 Knysna RS ski
Robert Willis M Tour 02:18:47 NYK
Roswitha Wagenknecht F Senior Tour 02:20:31 Nordcapp LV
Martyn Pegg M Tour 02:20:41 P&H Quest LV
Paul Roberts M Senior Tour 02:23:11 P&H Cetus HV
Alistair Hornsby M OC1 02:24:21 Outrigger
Gordon Milne M Senior Tour 02:24:56 P&H Sirius
Robert Taylor M Senior Tour 02:27:09 Valley Etain 17-7
Susan Smith F Senior Tour 02:30:34 Tiderace Xplore
Anita Stacy F Senior Ski 02:31:19 Epic V5 ski
Martin Hadlington  M Senior Race 02:32:03 Seatrek
Andy Rowley M Senior Race 02:32:05 Valley Rapier 20
Peter Roscoe M Senior Tour 02:32:13 Rockpool Alaw Bach
Annette Morris F Senior Tour 02:38:42 Rockpool Alaw Bach
Alan Blackburn M Senior Tour 02:39:20 Rockpool Alaw Bach
Gus Brydon M Senior Tour 02:40:20 P&H Cetus
Jane Hornsby F Senior Race 02:41:11 Rockpool Tarantella
Susan Low  F Tour 02:47:23 NKD Romany
Neil Gray M Senior Tour 02:47:28 P&H Scorpio HV
Paula Sharples F Team DNS Rockpool Alaw Bach
Jim Wallis M Race DNS Rockpool Taran
Kevin Mussell M Ski DNS Think Ion ski
Graham Bell M Senior Ski DNS Epic V10 sport
Site designed and donated by Sea Pebble Ltd